Firefox Improves Privacy with History-Wiping ‘Forget’ Button and DuckDuckGo Search Support

Firefox version 33.1 adds a new button called “Forget,” which lets users wipe only their most recent browsing history and cookies. Users can choose to forget the last 5 minutes, 2 hours or 24 hours of activity, while preserving all history and cookies prior to that timeframe.

Of course, Firefox has had a Private Browsing feature for some time that wipes all history and cookies once users close the private window. However, that feature requires planning ahead. The newest changes will appeal to users who browse normally and later realize they’d like to erase some evidence.

Mozilla has also added DuckDuckGo as an option in Firefox’s search bar. DuckDuckGo is a search engine that emphasizes privacy, keeping no record of users’ searches and logging no IP addresses. You can learn more about DuckDuckGo’s privacy features in my earlier article at https://privacyblog.com/2014/11/01/the-search-engine-that-doesnt-track-you.

You can read more in the Firefox Blog at https://blog.mozilla.org/blog/2014/11/10/celebrating-10-years-of-firefox-2.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s