A Plan to Block Mass Surveillance by NSA, GCHQ and Others

The intelligence agencies of the United States, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, and the United Kingdom (collectively known as the “Five Eyes”) collect and share huge amounts of data electronically. All of these countries spy both on their own citizens and foreigners alike. In addition, the United States has relationships (including various levels of intelligence data sharing and assistance) with Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Israel, Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, Norway, Singapore, Spain, South Korea, Sweden, and potentially a number of other countries worldwide. There are also other countries, including Russia, China, and others, that engage in surveillance of digital communications without sharing that data with the NSA.

A former senior U.S. intelligence official characterized former NSA Director Gen. Keith Alexander’s approach to surveillance as “Collect is all, tag it, store it… And whatever it is you want, you go searching for it.”

The Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF) has long worked to protect the rights freedoms of all citizens of the world. Now the Foundation has published a multi-step proposed plan to thwart the spying. The plan includes public pressure to only elect members of Congress who are willing to change present legislation that allows spying, to encourage universal encryption on ALL Internet and other communications, to change Executive Order 12333 created by President Ronald Reagan in 1981, and much more.

You can read more in an article by Rainey Reitman of the Electronic Frontier Foundation at https://www.eff.org/deeplinks/2015/01/effs-game-plan-ending-global-mass-surveillance.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.