Bleep: a FREE Peer-to-Peer Network Encrypted Chat and Voice Calls App

bleepBleep is a FREE app for Windows, Macintosh, Android and Apple iOS (iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch) that makes highly-secure encrypted voice calls and text messages between two Bleep users. Unlike most other voice calling products, you don’t even need to create an account or register with anyone else. Simply download the Bleep app, invite your friends and start chatting. This product is so private that the folks who produce Bleep don’t even know who their own customers are.

Every conversation in Bleep is between you and your friends. There is no cloud to hack because messages are never stored in the cloud or in any other servers. Every conversation is encrypted and is believed to be safe from spying by the NSA or anyone else who wants to invade your privacy.

Bleep was created by the folks at BitTorrent, Inc., the non-profit organization best known for its torrent client. Bleep works on a peer-to-peer network with no server involved. That’s why you don’t need to create an account with anyone: there is no centralized server to keep track of accounts. Bleep doesn’t require any personal information — email address, or phone number — at the time of registration. You can enter that information, if you want, but it is entirely optional. All you really need to do is to pick a nickname that isn’t already in use by another Bleep user. For better privacy, don’t use your own name or any other identifying information for the nickname.  Anyone can then contact you by simply entering your Bleep nickname.

There is nothing in Bleep that resembles a telephone book or any other method of looking up a user’s phone “number” (actually a nickname) or real name or address or anything else. The only way anyone can call you is if you have previously given your Bleep nickname to that person.

Since Bleep’s peer-to-peer network makes calls and text messages without storing any files in the cloud, the company says that hackers can’t target a particular location to steal content. Bleep stores information on a user’s device for a brief period of time before deleting the information. Once the call is over, nothing remains on the devices used to make the call. There are no log files, or other records of past conversations. Calls and text messages are encrypted and sent over any Internet data connection, including hard-wired ethernet connections (in a Windows or Macintosh system), wi-fi, or on a cell phone’s 3G or 4G cell phone connection.

In addition to encrypted text messaging, Bleep also includes another text capability called “Whisper.” The Whisper text messages are also encrypted for privacy reasons. There is one major difference with other text messages however: Whisper messages are erased 25 seconds after they have been viewed. The company assures that there is no way a person could retain a copy of the message once it has been viewed, and it doesn’t store the files in a centralized server.

There is one significant downside: the Bleep Terms and Conditions at http://www.bittorrent.com/legal/terms-of-use do specify that you may use the product only for personal, informational, NON-COMMERCIAL and internal purposes.

Thanks to the encryption and the disappearing Whisper messages, Bleep is much more secure than the competitive voice products from Whatsapp, iMessage, Skype, Viber, Snapchat, or Facebook.

Free voice calls, free text messages, encrypted, decentralized operation, excellent privacy… What more could you want?

You can download the FREE Bleep app for Windows, Macintosh, Android and Apple iOS (iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch) at http://www.bleep.pm/.

One thought on “Bleep: a FREE Peer-to-Peer Network Encrypted Chat and Voice Calls App

  1. Looks like a nice app, but I already persuaded my contacts to switch from WhatsApp to Threema (which is great), there’s no way they’ll switch again. I guess Bleep just hit the scene too late.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s