The Latest Netflix Email Scam

If you receive an email message that claims to be from Netflix and it says your account has been suspended, don’t believe it! It is a scam. Here’s the typical email message:

If you click on “Restart Membership,” you will be taken to a web page that looks like a Netflix login page but it is really on a web page owned by a scammer. It will ask you to enter your Netflix user name and password. Of course, once you enter the requested information, the scammer can access your account.

If you happen to use the same user name and password on other web pages, such as your bank or your online stock brokerage account, the scammer can access those web sites as well. Now you know why security experts always insist you should have different passwords on different web accounts.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s