Privacy Blog

"Friends don’t let friends get spied on.' – Richard Stallman, President of the Free Software Foundation and longtime advocate of privacy in technology.

Google to Auto-Delete Users’ Records by Default

Google is changing its default settings to automatically delete some of the data it collects about users.

Web and app activity, including a log of website searches and pages visited, as well as location data, will now be wiped after 18 months. YouTube histories – including which clips were watched and for how long – will be erased after 36 months. The changes apply to new accounts only but existing users will soon be shown new prompts to adjust their settings.

You can read more in an article by Leo Kelion in the BBC News web site at: https://www.bbc.com/news/technology-53165566.

The fact that Google is beginning to delete some of the tracking of users is indeed good news. Unfortunately, only 18-to-36-month-old information is being deleted. Google should change that to delete all tracking information of its users once the information is 2 seconds old!

Categories: Online Privacy & Security

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.